Skip to content

Now I know how Noah must of felt…

September 21, 2010

in awe of the pouring rain and thinking hitf am I going to walk home in this?!

thinking of "him" and not giving a damn about the pouring rain

Hello!

It has rained for almost seven hours straight here in Seoul. Since I’m on vacation, well that’s what I’m calling it, it’s really a national holiday, Chuseok Chuseok is the biggest and most important holiday of the year. More meaningful than our American Thanksgiving (there’s no football game nor canned cranberry sauce, thank God). So a Korean holiday turns into a six day vacation for yours truly. YAY!

Back to Noah. Just before the seven-hour downpour I finally got dressed and decided to take myself to perhaps the only open cafe nearby. I’m putting the finishing touches on my book. Normal day, nice and quite with two cups of Americano to keep me alert. No sooner had I sat down then God in heaven decided to open the floodgates and give us all a good show. Yay?! What?

I love the rain and I love me some thunder but this was a little too much even for me. Ok? The cafe is mostly walled glass with an amazing view it took my breath away to see sheets of raining instantly slow buses, cars and motorcyclists. It was that bad.

After almost three hours in the front row, my stomach started to growl and I didn’t have any tic tacs to speak of. HOME JEEVES! I packed my Mac very carefully and decided to brave the downpour for my seven minute walk home… Everything was going well, at the crosswalk now, almost home, SMACK!!!! at the halfway mark I notice that there was a flood in the middle of the street! I look at the girl to my left, she looks at me and then I walk, no WADE in the water, praying to God that I don’t fall down (the water was rushing in the street folks a real rapids! Damn near knee deep until I finally get to the sidewalk, and my building is just seconds away….I home free.

I have never seen anything like that before, not in Seoul. Joan (my new name for my Mac) and I made it home safely and now I’m free to work, surrounded by food and drink and the thoughts of someone so special. He’s becoming a distraction, and a lovely one at that.

Happy Chuseok!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Philippe permalink
    September 21, 2010 10:52 PM

    Good Lord! You live dangerously!

  2. September 22, 2010 1:02 AM

    and the Good Lord always sees me through. He’s so cool!!

  3. Philippe permalink
    September 22, 2010 6:25 AM

    I forgot to mention: very nice pictures of you! You look pensive and as if you expect something, a bit like a fair lady in her castle, waiting for Prince Charming to come back from the Crusades… I hope you’re not bored, or worse torturing yourself. How about a smile next time?

  4. jackie Youn permalink
    September 22, 2010 1:23 PM

    hi Fifi! :) happy chuseok! glad you didn’t get swept away in the water~! it was crazy yesterday
    i was riding the bus to myongdong and the bus was splashing water out to the sidewalk like Moses spliting the sea water.. (or was it a river? :P)

  5. September 22, 2010 3:18 PM

    Happy Chuseok to you as well!
    You are hilarious! I miss you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 469 other followers

