Skip to content

Herb Ritts: The Golden Hour

July 19, 2011


While perusing the shelves in my local bookstore today I saw soulful eyes jump out at me from a cover of a book. I happened to glance at a fascinating book about Herb Ritts, called Herb Ritts, The Golden Hour. Herb Ritts was one of the first photographers who really made me study the human body and shadow. I was quite young when I found out about him. His photographic genius, nudes and my innocence made for some secret corner seeking as I sat awestruck at the male and female nudes that portrayed, strength, grace and sexuality I’d never even dreamed of. I cherish Mr.Ritts for his eye, for giving me the body beautiful, glorious, and powerful. I can only hope that my my work will inspire others as much as he inspires me. He still touches my life today and when I look at Woman and Sea (above) something comes over me.

Who fascinates you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

