Skip to content

The Layout

July 9, 2012

Ahhh! A new week has begun. Just finished something I haven’t done in a long time: my morning yoga routine. I’ve decided to get back on it and I feel so energized already.
In two weeks I’ll be able to think more clearly about my next project: Home. The layout of this home suits what I want to create but I don’t know how sold I am on the open kitchen. I know that the kitchen is where everybody ends up talking, etc. but truth be told, when I have guests I like to be alone in my kitchen and let the guests enjoy themselves in the living room, dining room. What say you? Do you like open kitchens? living rooms? dining rooms?

Photo Credit

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 2:44 PM

    I like the look and feel of this space: rustic, comfortable, inviting. The clean lines and clutter-free space speak to me. (Perhaps it’s because I’m doing some spring/summer cleaning and I’m paring down my wadrobe.)

    I love an open kitchen. The ‘cuisine indépendante’ here in France is a social killer for me. While I generally don’t like people in the kitchen with me I do love being part of the conversation and entertaining my guests, even from the kitchen is a ‘must’. This big open ‘cuisine américaine’ with the living and dining rooms all open to the kitchen has Tanya written all over it!

  2. The Dane permalink
    July 9, 2012 6:00 PM

    I prefer open kitchens actually – you can follow the conversation whilst getting dinner ready and still be up to speed when you sit down to tug in, brilliant!

  3. July 9, 2012 6:35 PM

    Hello Tanya!
    You and The Dane bring up great points. Maybe I’m too caught up in giving my guests a “big reveal”. I like your points, being part of the conversation while still preparing things in the kitchen is practical and essential. Ok, open kitchen it is. I really liked the elevated kitchen on the show Will and Grace. Just une idée.

  4. July 11, 2012 1:39 AM

    I love yoga! and I love an open kitchen. It’s fun conversing with your guests as you cook, and you learn to become more relaxed in entertaining. It’s less of a formal affair :) I adore the picture above!

  5. July 11, 2012 6:21 AM

    Nice to hear from you! You and some others have made very good points. An open kitchen just might help me keep an eye the little one better…(if and when they exist).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

