Skip to content

Reading on the metro

July 18, 2012

Hello everyone!
I’ve been a bit M.I.A. lately. I do apologize because I really miss being able to write to you all, things here in Paris are heating up professionally as well as the summer heat, FINALLY. Blue skies abound, it affects the morale.

I know that most people think that all of France is on vacation right now, uh, not so. We’re all still working and commuting like the rest of the world. To make the daily metro ride as pleasant as possible, I take a book, well several books. At the moment I’m reading these on the metro: Buy-ology by Martin Lindstrom, On Brick Lane by Rachel Lichtenstein(light I purchased while in London) and The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything by Ken Robinson. All three are fascinating and are relevant to my current state of mind.

I love that I found this brillant series of photographs by photographer, Ourit Ben-Haim, of people reading and learning on the metro in NYC. It made me smile because I know I look exactly like these fine folk. Reading is fundamental!

What are YOU reading these days? Please let me know, I love to read. Merci!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 9:10 PM

    For many years I did most of my reading during the commute to and from my job. 10 years ago I quit to start my own business and haven’t been able to work much reading, outside of quick magazine runthroughs, into my days. I really do miss plopping down on the subway with a good book and 40 mins to do nothing but devour the words in front of me. It was sheer bliss.

  2. July 18, 2012 9:16 PM

    Hey! Congratulations on your starting your own business! I can’t anymore with magazines, my “magazines” are gorgeous home décor blogs and a few fashion blogs in the morning. Do you read any business magazines? I’d love to know, because perhaps they also have a website. I’m paving the way for my own business. Thanks for the inspiration. Ciao!

  3. Giovonni "GiGi" Walker permalink
    July 19, 2012 3:48 AM

    Patricia Cornwell Cause of Death……..when I’m not studying lol

  4. July 19, 2012 7:08 AM

    Thanks, Gigi! I’ll look into this author, I know she’s one of the best in the industry. Now keep on studyin’! Remember you’ll be taking care of me and my finances when I get old. Love you!

  5. Giovonni "GiGi" Walker permalink
    July 19, 2012 4:37 PM

    LOL yes i will! love you too

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

