Skip to content

The company I want to create and keep

August 12, 2012

I put it out to you and the rest of the universe in my last post that I’m going to start my own business: a beautiful online store. What I want to create is a shop that lures you in terms of the amazing textiles from various countries such as Morocco, Spain, France (French linen anyone?), etc. but I also wish to collect items that you can instantly and naturally see in your home, no matter that you do not live in any of these locations. No one wants their home to look like a souk. That piece of wisdom comes from The Dane and I wholeheartedly agree. I’m in the beginning process of it all but I know what I want to create and share with all of you.

Here are just some images of the things I plan on having in my shop, the atmosphere I’ll create. What do you think?

What are some things that you like to buy from other countries that you do’t have time to travel there and get yourself?

Images from here and here

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2012 8:11 PM

    Definitely the textiles. We’re doing some redecorating and really want to add more “ethnic” designs and bright colours. Seems like everything we found was a westernized version of the real thing. So yeah, cushions and even bedding in different designs.

  2. August 12, 2012 10:07 PM

    Hello to you!
    I hear ya’ about the “Westernized version” of things. Beautiful bedding, towels, etc. I love those things and that they should come from people from all walks of life, handmade, etc. I just love it.

  3. August 13, 2012 4:10 AM

    i love all your interiors in the shots above. What I love are authentic, “made in Morocco”, “Made in Italy” etc ceramics, linens, blankets, towels. I dislike buying something made elsewhere as a copy. I look forward to learning more about your online store.

  4. August 13, 2012 6:42 AM

    What a great idea! I can totally see you doing that, because you have such amazing taste. I can’t wait to see it. I know it will be impeccably curated.

  5. August 13, 2012 8:40 AM

    Thank you! I love traveling and taking one or two things back that are specifically from that region. To know that they were produced by the people that actually live and work there is so special to me. That’s what I want my company to be about: Authenticity. Thank you for giving me some feedback.

  6. August 13, 2012 8:46 AM

    Thank you, lady Josephine! Great to hear from you!

  7. August 14, 2012 10:42 AM

    “No one wants their home to look like a souk.” That just about had me dead with laughter!

    Anyway, I’m behind you 100%. I love it and I’d visit your online store and even buy stuff too! :-) Seriously, the photos you’ve shown on your blog to date are absolutely gorgeous and they hit home with me. I love the mix of fabric and textiles, of colours and patterns. I just need the apartment to fit all this good stuff in. You launch it and they (at lease me) will come. Bonne chance!

  8. August 14, 2012 11:48 AM

    Hello, Tanya! You’re awesome! Thank you so much. The Dane is quite witty and sharp when it comes to décor. I know that this new venture of mine will be time consuming and difficult, but anything worth having is never easy and I’m obsessed with textiles and all the beautiful. You and I are birds of a feather. Thanks for the support!

  9. August 24, 2012 6:53 PM

    I’m catching up on blogs and I missed yours so much! So excited for this idea! Your store would be nothing short of gorgeous.

    Great textiles make my heart flutter. Any prints or patterns that you had would be great!
    Cheers in advance to making this happen!

    xo
    Nicole

  10. August 24, 2012 9:48 PM

    Nicole! Thank you! You’re so sweet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 563 other followers

