Skip to content

Take me to the river, take me to the water

September 2, 2007
tags:

Some people go to church, I go to the river.
I’ve been extremely fortunate all of my life to live either 5 to 20 minutes by foot or car from large bodies of water. Today, I had to really dig down in my “God, help me” bag and pull out a sympathy jacket and hit the road to cure the Sunday blues the only way I know how: I had to walk to the river. I now live in Seoul and it’s here that I sit next to the Han River to get outside of myself, be somewhere else, to feel small. It just puts everything into perspective and I don’t have to think, just feel. I did take some amazing friends: Sly and the Family Stone, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie and Seu Jorge of course! Love those men. As Sly was taking me higher, I took photos, walked, took more photos and walked some more. I started feeling better as I was greeted with nice smiles and inquisitive eyes by the older citizens out getting their exercise. I love seeing older people out sweating, huffing and puffing, swinging their arms and whatnot. Elderly Koreans are fierce in this respect! They make the average middle-aged American look like, well, average middle-aged Americans. Come on, don’t act like you don’t know what I mean. Ha! I’m back folks!

redbridge2.jpg

umbrella1.jpg

fishnet2.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mun-Hui, Han permalink
    September 2, 2007 2:37 PM

    Hi..Felicia…
    This is Mun-Hui of the 3C small class last month.
    Do U remember me??
    Your class was really great ..And you were so gorgeous teacher.
    I hope to see you again.
    If you have a time, drop by my home page.
    Take care and stay cool…

  2. The Alexandrian permalink
    September 2, 2007 11:55 PM

    Hi Feliicia,
    Oui, c’est vrai que tu avais le Blues aujourd’hui…. Next time, remember that you are much admired and much loved by many. Walking or resting by a river is very soothing for the soul, so you did the right thing. I did that too myself today as I biked toward the Potomac and sat there for a while looking at the boats and the birds. It was low tide. It is then that one can dream and reflect upon life. With its continous flow, a stream or a river is a symbol of time ans space, because it never stops and the water you see is flowing to some other places. What’s good is that even when you are down you don’t lose your sense of humor. Be strong, girl!

  3. September 3, 2007 8:39 AM

    Wow great photography. I really like your pictures… you are very talented.

  4. thistimenow permalink*
    September 4, 2007 1:31 AM

    Thank you Jeremy! I love your website and your desire to travel the world!
    Happy Trails to you!

Leave a Reply

