Skip to content

She had me in the palm of her hands

March 30, 2008
tags:

fsheltonphotosthefloatingmktchef.jpg

fsheltonphotosfloatingmktchef2.jpg

fsheltonphotossimplesoup.jpg

fsheltonphotoskannomkrok.jpg

and for dessert…Kannom Krok. These discs are made of ground rice, coconut milk, and sugar.

I just want to say that I love women who love to cook! Everyone loves a great cook, non?
Of course I had to visit The Damnoen Saduk Floating Market here in Thailand.

I had no idea that I’d see this angel cooking, gracefully floating in her paddle boat, sharing her expert cooking skills with all who could not resist the aromas floating from her direction. I’m hungrier now for her food, all Thai food. I can’t believe the difference between Thailand and Korea. I woke up this morning to another cold and gray day here in Seoul, stomach growling, knowing that I cant’ go down to the corner and pick and choose any dish for less than three dollars and make each and every one of my senses happy. 

That’s it, I’m moving to Thailand. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2008 4:30 PM

    Good choice. I have lived 5 years in Bangkok, best years of my life.
    Thailand is paradise. Best country in Asia! Most friendly people, great food…
    Greetings from China (a bit chilly here too)
    Suzie from Beijing Notebook

  2. March 30, 2008 6:44 PM

    Simply gorgeous! I don’t think I’d ever leave, haha!
    I’m looking forward to the rest of the photos…

    Anaylli

  3. thistimenow permalink*
    March 30, 2008 11:48 PM

    Suzie and Anayli,

    Thank you for putting a smile on my face this Monday morning!

    Ciao!
    Felicia

  4. March 31, 2008 12:39 AM

    Congratulations!!! You have been nominated for a 2007 Best Of Blog Award!! Especially designed to bring attention to lower profile bloggers, The BoB’s as we like to call them are currently taking nominations in over 20 different categories. To find out more about how your site has a chance to become one of this year’s Best Of’s and how to nominate other bloggers, visit us at http://www.thebestofblogs.com. Remember voting begins April 14th so make sure you pass the word to your friends, family, and faithful followers.

    Sincerely,
    Bill Beck
    Project Mgr.
    http://www.TheBestOfBlogs.com
    Email:Bloggerbeck@aol.com

  5. April 2, 2008 1:25 AM

    Ah, I’m sorry we missed you on your visit! But at the very least, I’m glad to hear that you had such a good time, and that you took such awesome photos. Khanom krok is one of my favorite treats- though I have a habit of always burning my mouth on them! Looking forward to seeing you when you move here! -X

  6. The Alexandrian permalink
    April 3, 2008 11:01 PM

    I believe you are totally lost for American cuisine (if there is such a thing..). Are you sometimes still salivating for a juicy hamburger?

  7. thistimenow permalink*
    April 4, 2008 12:00 AM

    Oh Alexandrian!
    There is such a thing as American cuisine! It is influenced by other cultures of course, given our history. It’s funny that you should mention a “juicy hamburger”. I mentioned this yesterday to someone and I wouldn’t mind having one right now, actually.
    I love Thai food, it’s new to me and it seems that every one of my senses responds to it, but nothing compares to your roasted chicken and rosemary potatoes with a great bottle of French wine and of course, your company.

Leave a Reply

