Skip to content

Steadfast amidst all the commotion

May 2, 2008
tags:

Today is the day before the great celebration of the Lantern Festival. I spotted these honorable monks near Jogyesa Temple this afternoon. This is a celebration of the The Buddha’s birthday and I thank The Buddha for the lighting the pathway that leads those who chose Buddhism to know God’s grace. Whether you are Buddhist, Baptist or Hindu I hope that you celebrate the light that surely flows through you each and every day, the light of Life and Creativity. I love the way that these Buddhist monks moved through the streets, steadfast and true…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sdg1844 permalink
    May 5, 2008 4:12 AM

    I just read through your whole blog. It’s been a total pleasure! I love the pictures of the monks. They have a focus that I truly admire. Keep up the good work and these fabulous pictures.

    http://funkyfingaproductions.blogspot.com/

  2. May 5, 2008 9:38 AM

    Thank you! I will read more of your blog on Wednesday!
    Just had wine with dinner and am a little “tipsy”. Hehehe!

    Ciao!

    Felicia

  3. May 6, 2008 2:47 PM

    I came from the Sartorialist,

    I’m really excited to see your picture of monks in Korea
    because you mentioned that you love the way they go down the street and in fact I have taken a same kind of photographs at Ginza, Tokyo.

    monks in your photo look natural and do not outstand in the mobs and town.
    the outfit of them is also different from that of japanese ones….

    If you could, compare your photos and my ones and let me hear your opinion!

    one of my photo about monk is put on my website, being included the work called “PATTERNS”

  4. May 8, 2008 4:54 AM

    Oh isn’t it completely calming just to watch them? When I was in McLeod Gunj in Himachal Pradesh in India, there were a lot of monks in and around the Gompas there. I’ve blogged about the place. But yes, what struck me about them was their complete calm composture as they went about their work, walking on the streets or buying groceries or even meditating in a quiet restaurant. Loved your pictures ūüôā

Leave a Reply

