Skip to content

Hotels in Thailand: Phranakorn Nornlen! The Best!

May 13, 2008

Just yesterday I was asked by Anne, creator of Pret a Voyager to give her some tips or information about traveling to Thailand. Of course I gave her advice about mosquito repellant, proper attire when visiting temples, etc. but I also had to share a gem that I discovered just before traveling to this extraordinary country: Phranakorn Nornlen!.

This is such a wonderful hotel that I stayed there twice! Why? After my horrible time at Good Time Resort Hotel on the island of Koh Mak, I was praying that “P.N.” would have a room for me! They did and it was even better! It was like being a child at Grandma’s house in the country, complete with ceiling fans and waking to beautiful music! They treated me like a queen (they surprised me with a gorgeous birthday cake and sang for me as well!) and I occasionally ate dinner with the staff members at their favorite haunts around the city. They were so welcoming, helpful and kind. It really was like coming home, except these family members were of Thai descent! Ha!

The rate is reasonable, the decor will leave your mouth agape and your eyes wondering how a place this lush, this green and relaxing, can be in one of the busiest cities in the world! Upon entering you are surrounded by tall and short green trees, bushes and plants, the coolness that they provides envelopes you as soon as you take your third step.

Phranakorn Nornlen is built to remind you of an old Thai village. You will find vintage fabrics, lighting, etc. They also have their own boutique where colorful sarongs, blouses, etc. are sold. They also have a sweet little cafe downstairs as well.

I was allowed to peek at their latest creation: an organic farm that they will have on the rooftop!

Added bonus among many: They serve a hardy organic breakfast every morning that is included in the price of your hotel room! Perfect!

Before visiting my family in the U.S. in June, I plan to travel to Laos and Cambodia. I will also book the nicest room at Phranakorn Nornlen. It will be my home away from home whenever I’m in Thailand.

I will post the second, and in my opinion, the chicest hotel in Thailand, soon!

Bon Voyage, Anne!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 5:12 PM

    Thanks, Felicia! I can’t even remember where we’re staying at this point (I put my friend Michelle in charge of that stuff- lodging isn’t my forte), but looks like that place is worth a visit at least!

    T minus 2 days (nevermind that it’s another 27 hours after that that we arrive).

    Best!
    Anne

  2. sdg1844 permalink
    May 14, 2008 12:54 AM

    Sounds and looks lovely! When I get a chance to visit, I will remember this recommendation.

    http://funkyfingaproductions.blogspot.com/

  3. May 14, 2008 3:00 AM

    this was one of the places i wanted to stay at, but we ended up going for the chic-er (but more expensive) Metropolitan. is it very close to Khao San road? One of the things that put me off was that I thought it was located in the backpacker district, but I couldn’t tell for sure from their map.

  4. May 27, 2008 5:53 PM

    I love these photos! A great (and inexpensive) place to stay in Bangkok is the Shanti Lodge. Well located but away from the Khao San madhouse.

    Love your blog, so glad you dropped by mine so i could discover it!

Leave a Reply

