Skip to content

Tonight: Shades of Retro

May 24, 2008

Usually when traveling alone in a strange city I tend not to trip the light fantastic under the moonlight. The reason? I usually walk myself to exhaustion during the day time. I can’t deny it, I am a Bon Vivant!
Sprawled across my bed at the hotel, ceiling fan coaxing me to sleep, I suddenly became bored. Even though my feet were saying no, my short attention span said yes to the idea of heading across town to check out this joint. Chic, sexy shadows, delicious Thai beer, and chill people. I’m there!

The jazz alone is worth the drive!

They have a good thing going at Shades of Retro: great music, good people, no snobbisme. Go! Now!

Have a great weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 6:02 PM

    I love cafe society. It’s something I wish would become more of an institution in America. People watching, good food, music is what life’s all about. 😉

  2. May 30, 2008 1:41 PM

    Love the idea “shades of retro”

    Anne

  3. maritasays permalink
    June 9, 2008 2:20 AM

    You know, I’ve been wanting to go so many times, but we always seem to be there while it is still closed. Looks great though and thanks for the reminder to go try it again.

  4. thistimenow permalink*
    June 9, 2008 11:22 AM

    Hello Maritasays!
    I can hardly wait for you two to drop some fantastic surprise on all of us in terms of your moving to another country or perhaps even starting your own business!

    Shades of Retro was the most relaxed I’d been to in awhile. The beer was delicious, the owners and staff, oh so chill. I even met two design students and we hung out together for the rest of the night. Great place.

    Felicia

  5. Dave permalink
    July 16, 2008 8:45 AM

    Ahh yes. Im a regular here at least 2-3 times a week and this is Bar is one of Bangkoks best kept little gems.

    Anyone thats not been there, do yourself a favour and head on down……………

Leave a Reply

