Skip to content

Antiques in Itaewon.

May 31, 2008
tags:



 

I was asked to photograph and write about antiques in Itaewon. I love it when my editor lets me choose which store, cafe, etc., for my monthly feature in Seoul Selection. After you pass all of the cheap clothing and souvenir shops in Itaewon, pretty much selling the same thing, you’ll start to glide into the antique lover’s section of Seoul. Now, do NOT think that this section resembles in any shape or form the glorious antique flea markets of northern Paris.

Itaewon will never be Paris but hey, it isn’t supposed to be. This is Seoul.

I stepped into Morning Calm Antiques Store both literally and figuratively a couple of weeks ago and was enamored of the small, tiny antique chinese oil lamps and tea pots. So precious and rich and color that I wanted to wrap them in plush velvet and head to Istanbul (it’s a real possibility folks, Istanbul) for more exciting adventures!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tineka permalink
    May 31, 2008 8:42 PM

    I-M-P-R-E-S-S-E-D is all I can say. I checked out the Seoul Selection link (good idea including that). You dream big enough, your bound to get it. Every time I read your blogs you inspire me, sista. It’s time I start pursuing my thang! Starting today!

  2. thistimenow permalink*
    May 31, 2008 9:15 PM

    Thank you my lady!
    Great to hear from you as usual!
    I hope that we can see each other when I come to visit tomorrow.

    Bises!

    Felicia

Leave a Reply

