Skip to content

One to Watch: Lola Akinmade

June 17, 2008


Lola and yours truly

Intelligent, beautiful, wise, so many words could describe Ms. Lola Akinmade but the one that stayed at the forefront of my mind while lunching with her was, inspirational. 

I came across Lola’s blog, featuring her photography, published writings, camera tips, etc. last year and I’m hooked. What I like most about her blog is that not only does she inform me about lenses, her latest adventure, etc. but she inspires me to know more about a particular subject or point of view. She also inspires me to look that much more deeper into what I’m researching or photographing. I finally met her in the flesh last week when she so graciously treated me with a Welcome Back Lunch at Fontaine. As I am taking off for Paris and London this Friday and she to Sweden, I will keep her words of wisdom with me when I might feel a twinge of doubt about the path I’ve chosen: “You are already living life on your own terms”. So are you, Lola, and we’re all the better for it.

Her work can also be viewed on Gadling, Vagabondish and she is also a regular contributor at Matador Travel
Lola Akinmade, Photojournalist, Incredible Woman, my new friend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sdg1844 permalink
    June 18, 2008 2:53 AM

    Thanks so much for recommending her site. Wonderful photos, knowledge and insight.

    http://funkyfingaproductions.blogspot.com/

  2. June 18, 2008 11:40 PM

    Hi!
    Learned about you and your site from Lola; love the photos!

    Peace,
    Julie

  3. June 25, 2008 1:41 AM

    You two look beautiful in those photos.

  4. thistimenow permalink*
    June 26, 2008 2:01 PM

    Thank you Julie et Brigitte!

    Felicia

Leave a Reply

