Skip to content

Pink and Domesticity

June 18, 2008
tags:


I am just a few days away from hopping yet another plane to visit with friends and family in Paris and London. I’ve been introduced to the word staycation over at Pret a Voyager and I really like the sound of it. However, more than discovering your own city like a tourist in lieu of crossing borders I also like the idea of a “mecation” that’s right, you heard it here first, a “mecation”. I guess that I’m having this mecation 24/7 as I am certainly not one of the millions of women who put other people’s needs and wants before there own. I learned a long time ago that in order to please and be of help to others you must first help and please yourself.
I’ve been in a lovely home for the past two weeks and have enjoyed every bit of solitude, neighborly visits, meeting new people and actually sleeping in a HOUSE and not a tiny, albeit cozy, studio in Korea. Sitting quietly, reading or watching dvd’s (foreign) or just getting some good telly in (thank you Bravo Network!) has done me a lot of good. I was a real lady of leisure but more than that it made me appreciate how comforting it is to see familiar faces and places, have a sense of place and home.

No matter where I roam I will always have the love and support of my family, friends and the beauty of Virginia. This is what keeps me keepin’ on.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 3:39 AM

    Here! Here! It’s always good to see family and friends and get that “center” back to to speak.

  2. June 25, 2008 11:10 AM

    I like the pink arm chair. it looks very content in its place.

    lee

    2 or 3

  3. thistimenow permalink*
    June 26, 2008 2:03 PM

    My friend’s house has great light and this chair glows when it streams through the windows.

    Ciao

    Felicia

Leave a Reply

