Skip to content

Velib forever!

July 23, 2008



A windy day it was!

Allo Allo!

While I’m busy working on close to two thousand photos taken over my 2 1/2 week vacation in Paris and London for a wonderful new client, I simply must share my new found infatuation: Velib!

Velib just celebrated it’s first anniversary some days ago and believe me even on the hottest days it was more refreshing to glide through the streets of Paris with Velib than traverse the city dans le metro.

If you haven’t heard of Velib: velo (bike) + liberte (liberty) then you’re in for a treat the next time you visit Paris. I left Paris in 2006 and now I cannot imagine Paris without this new mode of transportation. During the many years that I lived in Paris, I could have bought my own bike but I didn’t and now with pollution and traffic jams on the rise Velib is now the smartest and la plus chic way of jetting across my lovely city with ease and style.

Velib, created by the Mairie de Paris was launched July 15 2007 and fits so well into the everyday lives of French citizens and tourists that I wonder how this city ever lived without it.

This video explains the pros and the cons of Velib but I found more pros than anything else. It’s inexpensive, bike stations are everywhere leaving you the ability to obtain or return your bike in a jiffy and did I say it’s inexpensive?
Daily, Catherine and I would put on our summer dresses or skirts, drop our purses into the bike’s baskets and head off to our favorite shops, neighborhoods, etc. With all the great food (mostly Italien!) that I ate while home in Paris, I never felt the least bit worried about my waistline expanding because I had my Velib and my dear friend Catherine to keep en forme!

Visit their official website if you want to practice your French.

We need Velib in America!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 10:53 PM

    Looks like a ton of fun. Glad all is well in Paris.

  2. sdg1844 permalink
    July 24, 2008 2:44 AM

    You look very happy and cheerful. I’d heard about this program. I’d like to see it adopted in more major cities in the States as well.

    http://www.gothamcitychick.com/

  3. Dani permalink
    July 24, 2008 7:46 AM

    Hi there. I am so fascinated by your Korean experience. I too am a black guy from Toronto Canada just about getting ready to go to Korea and teach English.

    I mean, i have lived and traveled through other countries where black people were the complete majority, but this time its different.

    But this time I am really anxious. Going to a completely different country with a completely different culture and most importantly with VERY few black people. Wow that really sounds scary.

    Again, I would love to learn some more about your experience, if you don’t mind. I guess that would give me a lot more peace of mind.

    Thanks.

  4. Sophie permalink
    July 27, 2008 10:19 PM

    Felicia…

    Having some spare time…flipping thru my favorite web sites…
    Are you really in Paris ? I can not believe it…I will be in Paris for the 15th of August…
    We have to see each other…
    If you don’t stay long…you know that with the TGV you can visit me in Marseille…it’s only 3 hours…
    Let me know.

    Bises,
    SOphie

    PS: I don’t want to do my “so french girl” critizing everything all the time BUT the concept of renting bikes was first in LYON, then PARIS and at last in MARSEILLE….When the city of LYON created this system a lot of people were extremly sceptic…it was such a huge succes that now LYON is a leader for other cities in France and even abroad…The city of LYON welcomes a lot of officials from countries all over the world…:-)

  5. thistimenow permalink*
    July 28, 2008 1:22 AM

    You are so right , Sophie. Lyon was the first and is such a great city to ride bikes in!
    I wish that my country would adopt this program and create more bike lanes for those of us who already use their bike as a major mode of transportation.

    Perhaps my lovely Fan in Richmond would be a great place to start? What do you think?

    Felicia

Leave a Reply

