Skip to content

Marché Glacière: Yes! More Italians!

August 12, 2008


 
My dear friend Catherine lives in the 13th arrondisemont of Paris and everytime that I visit her and her wonderful family, my appreciation for her neighborhood grows even more. The 13eme (treizieme) is not a tourist destination (thank goodness) but has something more, a certain ease, a self-assuredness that instantly lets you take in what it really means to live in Paris. This is Paris, day in-day out, steadfast, straight no chaser, the way that I love it. 

Being the kind of food enthusiast that I’ve become in recent years, luckily for me Catherine cooks everyday, lunch and dinner! Take that fast-food nation! No sooner had I unpacked and showered did we glide down to the marché to pick up that days ingredients for lunch: Prosciutto di Parma! Melon! Great vegetables and Wine!
First things first, we headed directly to meet with Michele Botti who represents the finest food that Italy has to offer to patrons who love all things Italian. He and his business partner reminded me of why I love Italian food. The balance that I create in my life seems ever present in the aromas, textures and tastes of Italian cured ham, handmade pastas and the warmth of the smiles that I found on my first day back in Paris. 

Is it any wonder that I kept going back for more?
Visit this charming market on Wednesdays and Saturdays and get there early!

Ciao!

Who: Michele Botti, Traiteur Italien and Tango Enthusiast

Marché Glacière

Where: Metro Stop: Glacière, 13eme arrondissement

When: Wednesdays and Saturdays

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 9:04 PM

    Over the weekend I think I found my excuse to move back to Paris, and your posts are only inspiring me more to do it! 🙂

    cheers!
    anne

  2. sdg1844 permalink
    August 14, 2008 12:22 AM

    Sounds lovely. Italian food is my favorite for the simplicity of ingredients and the dedication to quality.

  3. August 18, 2008 10:01 AM

    I’m going to have to check this area out when I’m next in Paris. A little bit of Italy in Paris? Heaven!

Leave a Reply

