Skip to content

Marché Blanqui in the 13ème

August 21, 2008
tags:

 I think that it’s rare to find all that you need at one marketplace and let’s face it, it’s just inviting to mark the difference or similarities between anyplace, let alone Parisian markets.

Bigger, rambunctious, definitely more produce to choose from than Marché Glacière and just as delightful. I had the pleasure of meeting Pierre, the traiteur Italiens extraordinare here and was charmed into buying about 50 dollars worth (aucun regret) of Proscuitto de Parma and delicious pasta. My friends and I enjoyed every bit of it.

I’m so glad that I was given a Paris Fêtes ses Marches canvas shopping bag by Pierre! The city of Paris partnered with The International Market of Rungis and Syctom de l’Agglomeration Parisienne to give away 200, 000 cotton shopping bags to get people to do their part in helping to preserve the environment. The bags come in various colors, are not associated with a top designer and can easily be tossed around a door knob for the next trip to the market. Love it! Paper and plastic are no longer options, it’s canvas now, baby. Tant mieux!

Marché Blanqui also feels like a place to see and be seen albeit by friends, neighbors and sometimes family members. I love its energy, great produce and of course, its people.

Merci, Pierre!

Where: Paris, 13th Arrondissement, rue Auguste Blanqui

When:  Tuesday, Friday and Sunday

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 8:32 PM

    Hi Felicia,
    I have just discovered your nice blog via Bomb English.
    And it’s so funny,, cuz,, I’m korean girl in Paris, listning Pod cast for learning english
    and visit a guest’s blog et voilà les photos de mon ancien quartier, au marché blanqui…
    J’habite toujours à Paris, pas loin de 13ème. Mais comme j’y vais pas souvent, ça me fait du plaisir de voir, hahaha.. I didn’t expect that.. : )
    Thanks for the photos and sorry for my english,
    I think i’ll visit your blog very often, lol

  2. September 6, 2008 2:28 PM

    So happy that you found me. Tell me more about yourself. You have my email address!
    Take Care!

    Felicia
    This Time in Seoul

Leave a Reply

