Skip to content

When faced with adversity, just stand

September 15, 2008

I am sitting here in a lovely hanok that a dear friend is letting me work and live in while she is away on vacation. I will head back to my beautiful Virginia (was thinking Berline, but bof! Berlin?) I have made a lot of progress while here in Seoul and have lined up two very important interviews that I will include in my book. I was told to focus only on one thing at a time, “first get your book published, then move on to your next project”. Wise words but now as Friday is getting closer, I now ask myself what the next step for me is.
Without going into too much details, I have decided to move toward actually making a home for myself and still travel the world working as a photographer and writer. I can have both! I can have it all! Who knew?
I shot this in a cafe that is the epitome of what I’d like to open up in my city of choice. This horse reminds me now of what to do when faced with doubt, possible adversity: Just stand. Don’t do anything hasty, don’t run to friends or family for the answer, just stand, access the situation and I think, like this horse (who is facing a panther): STAND AND SMILE. I’m grateful for all the great things that have happened, that are happening, and that will continue to happen. How lucky am I to be among such a great country and city to have met such amazing people. In honor of Chusok (Korean Thanksgiving) that took place yesterday, I thank my host and hostess for their unwavering hospitality, my friend Anna of
Annamatic (and husband) my cool family and countless others who make make me glad to be alive and always have a kind, intelligent, funny word for me. Thank you and keep it coming!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sdg1844 permalink
    September 17, 2008 1:31 AM

    Good for you. I like that horse. I hope that you find a wonderful “home” and continue to hit the road and see the world. 🙂

  2. September 17, 2008 9:36 AM

    Thank you! Will do!
    Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

