Skip to content

I just still can’t get enough: Choi Jung In, Part Deux

September 19, 2008

P.S. She had her lead cobbler measure my feet! Both feet are exactly the same size (a rarity I was told and those ankle boots that she’s wearing? They will be mine! My first pair of custom-made shoes! Many thanks to the Choi Jung In and her expert staff.

I could have stayed in her presence all day. Choi Jung In met with me again (it’s been a year) in her new studio near Itaewon wear she and her expert shoemakers design and construct exquisite handmade shoes. Bliss! She sat me down, the air pregnant with incense and her undeniable creativity and energy. Can you tell I worship her? Ha! As you know, I photographed her shoes in a previous blog of mine and now I will show you just a smidgen of what I saw in her studio. This time I wanted to listen more to Jung In (first name). I wanted to listen more about her ideas on fashion, aspirations past and present, her creative process. She gave me three hours of her time and now I’m still trying to put everything that she said into five or six paragraphs for my book. Her work is constantly photographed for Vogue, Elle, etc.
She believes wholeheartedly in what she does and I believe in what she is doing. She is simply doing what she loves, sharing it with the masses and loving every minute of it. She’s a artist, designer, entrepreneur, mother and wife. I wish her all the best, nothing but the best!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. seda permalink
    September 19, 2008 9:56 PM

    hi!
    i haven’t posted a comment in awhile, but i’ve been keeping up with your blog 🙂
    i’m so happy to see that your life is going in wonderful directions and i only hope i can be as fortunate and content 🙂
    i wanted to ask: where and how did you learn photography?
    i’m interested in photography, but have never taken a class. i want to buy a dslr, but i want to take a class before i invest in one. i don’t want to be one of those people who buy one without knowing how to use it.

    anyway, keep the posts coming! i love your blog ^^

  2. sdg1844 permalink
    September 25, 2008 10:15 AM

    It must be wonderful to have a pair of shoes fitted just for your feet. There is a wonderful luxury about it that I love. I believe in treating my feet well and can’t wait to experience my own custom shoes. 😉

  3. Jae Young permalink
    October 1, 2008 11:53 AM

    I am totes jealous. I would looove to have a pair of shoes custom-made for my feet. I already know my right foot is larger, so no luck there with perfectly matched feet.

  4. Diana permalink
    October 8, 2008 1:44 AM

    Hi there!
    Thanks for coming in to Quirk last week. Your blog is beautiful, and your photos are so crisp and strong!
    I hope to see you in more often.
    Take care, and thanks again!
    Diana

Leave a Reply

