Skip to content

Cotton, the fabric of our lives

November 3, 2008


 
This is Virginia, baby. Virginia. 

I’m now in the States and it’s like a foreign country sometimes, where I was born and raised.

Stakes are high. This is an understatement but if Mr. Obama does not become our next president, please believe me, it won’t be “the end of days”. I love that phrase! It’s funny to me. “The end of days”. Really? Which ever way it goes let’s just hope that our next president will actually care for the citizens of this country. Ok? We can agree on that, non?

Just some weeks ago a dear friend took me out for a drive in the country and in these parts that means you will run into some working plantations. Yes, that’s right, plantations. I’ve seen fields of cotton before but I’ve never stopped along the road to actually get out of the car, listen to the silence and touch cotton, not in its natural state. The silence was overwhelming. Here we were on a large dirt road, fields of cotton to our right and rolling vistas of flowers to the left. Usually when I think of slavery in this country and how that free labor made America what it is today, I am not filled with anger nor shame. If anything, I am in awe of the spirit of those men, women and children who toiled in the fields, picking cotton until their fingers bled and decided to live. I thank them. They decided to live no matter what. They believed that “trouble don’t last always” and now you and I can do whatever, whenever, however, wherever with whomever. I wish you the right to continue to do your civic duty: Vote and be a productive member of these United States.

Cotton really is the fabric of our lives.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 5:30 PM

    I love these pics ~ that last pic makes me want to reach out and squeeze the puffy little clouds of cotton…
    How’s life treatin’ you back in the States?

  2. November 12, 2008 10:10 PM

    Hey lady!
    Life is good, sometimes a bit scary, but I’m learning that it’s all a part of the process and to just laugh at it!

    Bises!

    Felicia

  3. November 17, 2008 6:56 AM

    Hm…This post was deep. I mean Paul Robeson deep.

    For some reason, the comment notifications for my blog have been going to my email account’s spam folder and I had no idea that anyone had been reading, let along commenting on, my last few posts. I’ll shoot you an email over the next 24 or 48.

    I had my wings clipped. But now, it’s time to get Fly.

Leave a Reply

