Skip to content

What I’m reading: Deluxe, How Luxury Lost its Luster

October 4, 2009
Photo cover courtesy of Amazon.com

Photo cover courtesy of Amazon.com

Duluxe by Dana Thomas is a must read. It’s a must-read for anyone who has ever gasped at the extortionate prices of designer goods, luxury items, handbags no less. I’m back in Seoul and shopping here happens as frequently as walking and talking. I tell my stateside friends it’s like Christmas here…everyday.
This book explains the history of luxury branding, how the Japanese account for mostly all of the world’s luxury brand sales and how more and more of these sought after goods may not really come from Italy, Paris or America.

Can someone say, China? I’m not even finished yet and I feel as I’ve gone to the coolest class at university. Yeah, this should be a class at university.

I understand excellent craftsmanship, I respect it. What I don’t respect is craftsmanship originating in some factory in China, by an overworked and underpaid laborer and it being sold at prices that could cover my rent for six months to

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 12:46 AM

    I love this book. So amazing. Writing is a little “journalistic” but the subject is endlessly fascinating. See you in a week Felicia! Looking forward to chatting about this book!.

  2. October 23, 2009 8:15 AM

    i need to read this book, too. i’m sure it will make me think twice before splurging on clothes or shoes.

Leave a Reply

