Skip to content

Inspiration Comes From: Richard Powers, Photographer

January 19, 2010

I took a chance and contacted the amazing photographer, Richard Powers. He granted me an interview!

Richard Powers has shot for Architectural Digest, Elle Decoration among many others as well as photographed several celebrated books combining architecture and interior design, spanning the globe from Asia to South America. What I love most about his work is his composition and how he respects shadow as much as light.

Ladies and gentleman, I am proud and honored to begin my new series called Inspiration Comes From, with Richard Powers.

Interview with Richard Powers

by Felicia Shelton

Shelton: I first want to thank you for taking the time to answer a few questions about your incredible career as a photographer. You’ve inspired me a great deal and I’m sure that I’m not alone in this.

Shelton: Richard, how were you first introduced to photography?

Powers: I am self taught picking up my first camera when I was 21 whilst traveling in Australia … from there I traveled extensively throughout Asia and South America shooting 1000’s of rolls – there is no better introduction to understanding light and capturing it.

Shelton: You are self-taught, were there any books that particularly helped you in becoming the photographer that you are today?

Powers: I love the work of the Brazilian photographer Sebastio Salgado – I guess he inspired me to follow my dream

Shelton: I, too am a photographer specializing in interior, what fascinates you about interior space?

Powers: I have a natural affinity to lines and volumes – always have – long before I picked up a camera I would be framing shots and still do !

FS: For budding photographers out there, when did you call yourself a professional photographer and under what circumstances?

RP: I had commissions to shoot 3 travel books and couldn’t handle the day job as well – it was an easy decision to make !

Shelton: What words of wisdom would you share with someone about becoming a professional photographer?

Powers: Be ready – Shoot more – break rules !

Shelton: How would you describe your work?

Powers: I shoot what I see – I like to think of my work as calming and balanced

Shelton: I promise this is the last question: What or who inspires you, your work?

Powers: My family

Thank you so much Richard!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 3:33 PM

    These are amazing shots, especially the stairwell! Thank you for sharing this!

  2. January 20, 2010 5:11 AM

    great interview!

  3. January 21, 2010 12:17 AM

    Wow! Such an great interview 🙂 And hooray for you for contacting him! I’d love to re-post this on my blog if you’d be okay with that 🙂

  4. January 21, 2010 5:49 AM

    Thank you!
    Bien sur! I’m ok with that and thank you again!

  5. January 21, 2010 6:34 AM

    And I TOTALLY forgot to mention how much more I now heart Mr. Powers after he named Sebastiao Salgado as an inspiration!! I love Sebastiao’s work, which greatly influenced me while I was pursuing photojournalism. Loving the closeness of our world 🙂

  6. January 22, 2010 2:25 AM

    Inspiring! Uplifting! It feels good to be back on the blog scene again and your interview just gave me more enthusiasm. Art is Love.

  7. natasha powers permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:16 AM

    he is my uncle im sooo proud of him 🙂

Leave a Reply

