Skip to content

Stretching my boundaries

May 13, 2010




I am the antithesis of everything I see in the streets of Seoul.
Sometimes this is not a good thing.

Sometimes you have to make your own self sit down and be quiet. Lightning has mean shooting out of my mouth since last Saturday. Certain students have been booking me either unprepared, or completely clueless, expecting to learn through osmosis.
I spoke with my lovely friend over a long and scrumptious (Italian food to the rescue) lunch yesterday and she gave me food for thought. We exchanged ideas, thoughts, observations. Basically I need to realize and say out loud that I’m happy right here and right now in my life. I also need to shake things up a bit in regards to my work as a photographer. I need to do something different.

I have my first commissioned fashion shoot (for a MAJOR magazine!) coming up this weekend and while I’m not so into fashion, I have to admit, for months now I can’t seem to tear myself away from the beauty of Jak and Jil Blog and Definitely Golden among many others. It’s not so much the fashion that I pay attention to, it’s the light, the textures of the garments, the mood, the everything that I love about why I do what I do. I hope that I can create a state of relaxation for my models and that the beauty of the moment shines through not only for my editor but for you the viewers as well.

Thank God for the peace that photography brings me.
Thank you Anna and anyone who produces great food and art.

All photos in this post are from Definitely Golden. Amazing Blog!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 1:26 AM

    Hello I follow your blog often and I myself live in South Korea and I have a love for photography not for any real purpose other than to soothe my nerves and to take awesome pictures. I was wondering if you could point me in the direction of a english speaking photography workshop or class you might know of here. I took a semester class back in the day and i would like to brush up on my skills with manuevering the camera, better lenses, and lighting! any suggestions would be wonderful as i have had no help from my co-teacher, other natives and web surfing. thank. you

  2. May 14, 2010 7:25 AM

    I’m totally understand! I’ve been feeling alternately like I’m loving my life, but I need a change to shake things up, too.

    You’ve got a great eye, so you will rock that fashion shoot! Can’t wait to see them in print!

    xx

  3. May 14, 2010 1:40 PM

    You’re awesome 🙂
    As they say in Korea, “Fighting!”
    XOXO

  4. May 14, 2010 1:57 PM

    Thank you!!! So sweet!!! Back atcha’!

Leave a Reply

