Skip to content

Life is Beauty

June 7, 2010

Let’s rap a taste.

I wonder if they’re other people like myself who stop at busy crosswalks and wonder if the people around them also wonder about their place in the world. Just sayin’. Someone said something quite profound to me after I had described a dream I’d had. He interpreted the dream so clearly, so intelligently that I had to sit with it awhile after he’d left my office.

What I want to say is this: I now know why I do the things that I do: travel, photography, write, meet amazing people. It’s so simple that I can hardly believe it, but it came to me and each time that I think of it, a smile spreads across my face, it’s like receiving your first flower from an admirer or just closing the door behind you as sheets of rain begin to hit your roof.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 7:58 AM

    so tell me why you do it? I wanna know. I love your blog. Are you on Twitter?

  2. June 8, 2010 9:28 AM

    Hello Tani!
    I don’t want to say exactly why I do it. My reason may sound completely selfish to others but hey, my life is my life, you know? I will say this, it makes me feel alive, aware and at all times, grateful. It all has to do with beauty.
    As the very young say: It is what it is. LOL! Now Miss Tani, tell me more about yourself. Why do you do what you do?

  3. June 9, 2010 1:38 PM

    I must admit its completely selfish on my end as well but to put it this way, I love learning and studying people. Understanding them and where they come free. I feel this connection the Renaissance period when people traversed the globe in search of a better life, to learn, understand, study and being free being enlightened. I do it to put it simply–to be enlightened. And of course its great convo. The selfish side is to prove in our society that not all brown people are ignorant… lol…le sigh..I love Europe. a place I don’t ever have to think about my race, just about my character…

  4. June 9, 2010 2:03 PM

    I love learning, I love people, communicating with all kinds of people from all walks of life. Europe is where it all comes together for me. Plus, I need some authentic Italian food served to me with a warm smile by a gorgeous Italian man. LOL!

  5. June 9, 2010 2:55 PM

    hey hey hey on the Italian man. girl do not get me started. sigh. I fell in love with a guy on Wednesday from Palermo to find out he had just got married. I was so bombed! And now I have to cook for him and a few other Italians tomorrow who have decided to come together to help me with my Italian before I leave. I will have to gauge my eyes out so I won’t sin. i swear and he is a flirt.. damn..

  6. June 9, 2010 6:14 PM

    Tanisha,

    Ooooooh, I’mma telllllll your momaaaaaa! LOL!

  7. June 9, 2010 7:37 PM

    i knowwwww…and i spent the better part of a week cyber stalking b4 i found out..le sigh.. chech ur inbox

  8. Trina permalink
    June 28, 2010 4:58 AM

    The details on that floor are absolutely amazing! You captured the warmth and texture of the wood for me. My feet can almost literally feel themselves walking over the smoothness.

Leave a Reply

