Skip to content

Invisible Children and Uganda

August 11, 2010

one of the schools built with the help of Invisible Children organization

beautiful school opening celebration!

Hello All!

I’ve been a bit restless lately. When I’m restless I start looking for things, on the internet, in books. I’m looking for a spark, something new to think about, something that I didn’t know before.

When I seek, I find. I found an organization called Invisible Children that blew me away.

I was moved to tears and felt my heart and mind racing about the possibilities that lie in the hearts and minds of these young Ugandan students ! I also thought to myself how I could contribute to the continued success of this organization and others like. I yet to step foot on the African continent.

As with any people and nation, education is EVERYTHING. What this organization does is rebuild war torn schools in Uganda and in doing so, empowering young students to not only become a stronger people, but escape a life of strife and struggle, the atrocities of war. They have created a scholarship fund as well as a great campaign called Schools for Schools.

I invite you to explore this organization at your leisure, donate if you so choose or help the children in your own community in some way shape or form. Being here in Korea and seeing how education is tantamount, almost to a point of obsession makes me wonder what Uganda would look today if they had a quarter of the supplies, teachers, money that surrounds you and me on a daily basis.

Check out their blog as well.

Are there any organizations that you currently belong to, are in the process of making or want to educate me about?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:39 AM

    Thank you for posting about this charity – I am always interesting in worthy causes. I support a school in Tanzania and visited it with my family a few years ago. It is incredible the difference education can make.

Leave a Reply

