Skip to content

Your’s truly in Harper’s Bazaar!

August 25, 2010

photographed by the awesome An Ji Sup!

I know the photo is a little blurry, I’ll post more photos from the shoot this week. They’re beautiful! An Ji Sup has worked with Vogue, Allure, W, etc. Amazing photographer and so charming. I hate having my photo taken, he made it fun, a walk in the park!

P.S. I was the only foreign WOMAN in the bunch. Love that!

Here’s the interview translated:

Felicia Shelton (Photographer and Writer)

The striking first impression I had of Felicia Shelton was that she looked like a model straight off the runway. Funky hairstyle, wearing a cobalt blue scarf that complimented her dark brown skin, it makes sense that she’s a photographer. She travels globally, fearlessly, seeking beauty. American born and bred, having lived in France and Gothenburg, it is now Korea that she calls home. She thought Seoul a quiet place, full of temples, very calm. However, she discovered unexpected beauty and excitement. She’s always eager to look for Korea’s endless treasures. Felicia loves Seoul, more than Koreans musicians love Hongdae and designers love Apgujeong. Her knowledge of cafes in Seoul is quite extensive.

Harper’s Bazaar: What brings you to Seoul?

Felicia Shelton: I’m back in Seoul to finish my book about café design in Seoul. I’ve lived in Paris and Gothenburg, but I’ve never seen anything like the cafes in Seoul. They’re amazing. I plan to self-publish through blurb.com but I hope to find a Korean publisher. I’ve decided to extend my stay for 8 months to finish the book and work on other projects.

HB: So you plan to introduce the cafes of Seoul to the world?

FS: Definitely. Since everyone loves coffee and design I thought that it would be a great idea to combine the two by focusing on cafes. Some Westerners come to Seoul and visit temples, learn about tea ceremonies, etc. They don’t know much about cafes. I have a secret place, a teahouse that I love located in Bukchon and Buamdong is very special to me.

HB: What articles have you published recently about Seoul?

I’ve done two articles so far for Travel and Leisure magazine. The first article was about Hyoja-dong and the second one, which will be published in September, is about street fashion in Seoul.

HB: What’s your opinion of street fashion in Seoul?

FS: I was surprised about the length of skirts here, so short! They’re very shy about showing other parts of the body. Korea should be called: Land of Legs. Legs are on display and so are pretty shoes and feet.  Street fashion in Hongdae is very funky and Apgujeong is all about luxury brands. Altogether, I think it’s about how you put something together, not what designer you’re wearing.

HB: As a photographer, what’s the most charming about Seoul?

FS: Seoul design, streets in Hongdae are great for design. There are so many cafes and boutiques there.

HB: The Best of the Best: Hongdae, the variety. There are both quiet and lively places there.

HB: What don’t you like about Seoul:

FS: There are no parks, no parks for children to play in or just to simply to relax in.

HB: What keeps you here in Seoul:

FS: The people keep me here. Seoul has a lot of beautiful things and places but it’s the people that make this city beautiful. I’m a foreigner, I don’t speak Korean, but the people here are very kind and very patient with me. They want to share their culture with me, they’re so proud. I love the people here. A wonderful city without great people is just a pretty postcard.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 4:56 PM

    awwwwwesome! 😀

  2. August 25, 2010 5:03 PM

    Thanks lady!

  3. August 25, 2010 5:54 PM

    Great interview Felicia!

    So, are you coming to Bali next after Korea? 😉

  4. yubie permalink
    August 25, 2010 9:18 PM

    Love the picture, different perspective. Will show Mom and the Princess tonight.

  5. August 25, 2010 9:21 PM

    I wish that we could be together, you know, do a little toasty toast (non-alcoholic of course) LOL! Love you!

  6. August 25, 2010 9:22 PM

    Thank you, Chris!
    If I could earn a living there….

  7. Eleanor permalink
    August 29, 2010 12:03 AM

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it’s amazing & awesome!!
    Good for you! you made it!!
    Congratulate, you! will see an article from November issue.
    Look forward to seeing your another good news 🙂

  8. neneh permalink
    August 29, 2010 9:32 AM

    Congrats Felicia. I have been following your blog since you started it. You inspired me to visit Seoul. I love your beautiful pictures and egarly await your book. I plan on visiting Seoul next year fall. Best wishes in everything.

  9. August 29, 2010 8:13 PM

    Wow. Congratulations on yet another milestone. You are certainly most deserving of the feature. Looking forward to your book on Seoul cafe culture and design. I actually first found your blog while rsearching for my trip to Seoul last year and needless to say, your blog was a great inspiration for that trip. – http://followyourbliss.tumblr.com/tagged/seoul

    As you can tell I tried to capture Seoul cafes like you do but is definitely not the same. 🙂 would love to have that book of yours on my book shelf soon!

  10. August 31, 2010 12:41 AM

    Wow! that’s exciting! congratulations.
    I’ve been reading your blog and I’m very impressed… how can I follow?

    Thanks!

  11. August 31, 2010 1:25 AM

    Hello and Welcome to my blog! Thank you for visiting. I’m going to check out your blog tomorrow. It’s late here in Korea, and I’m checking my mail. You can subscribe to the blog on the right-hand side of the page. Thank you for your well wishes and congratulations to you as well! Ciao!

    Felicia

  12. August 31, 2010 1:27 AM

    Thank you, Neneh! It means so much to me that I’ve inspired you to visit this incredible city. I know that you will find many more wonderful things and people that will make your stay here one that you’ll never forget. Best wishes to you as well and KEEP TRAVELING! Ciao!

    Felicia

  13. August 31, 2010 1:29 AM

    Thank you so much! I have a friend who loves MMMg, I love it as well, but it’s a trek getting there as I live on the other side of the Han River. Thank your words of inspiration, keep inspiring others with your amazing perspective.

    Best Wishes for all that you and will do

    Felicia

  14. September 1, 2010 11:41 AM

    thank you! love it ❤

    themodernvv.com

  15. September 7, 2010 3:04 PM

    I am so glad I found your blog. You have my dream job. I am also an aspiring writer (currently doing my masters) and I would love to be a travel writer. I was in Korea (summer 2008) and I absolutely love that country. I fell in love with everything, from soju to kimchi. I am subscribing. All the best.

  16. September 10, 2010 9:31 PM

    @a boy from another planet,

    Sorry for the late response. Thank you for commenting on and visiting my blog. Welcome! I really don’t have enough articles, etc. to call myself a travel writer…yet. My main focus is traveling and photography but now I’ve decided to improve my writing skills and little by little I’m getting out there. You should definitely market yourself and your experiences to people like Matador Travel and why not the major publications as well. You have nothing to lose by taking the first step. All the best to you as well!

Leave a Reply

