Skip to content

Because I’m worth it.

September 17, 2010

I deserve to take an indeterminate length of time off. I deserve to have absolutely no plans whatsoever. Why? Because I’m worth it. There, I said it. For those of you who are new to the blog, I declared my love for Italy and as a way to show my love and committment, I decided to move there.  This is what I do, folks, well, what I used to do.

Of course deciding to move, yet again, back to Europe is nothing to sneeze at. Hold on a minute, let me explain. I’m not some newbie, wet behind the ears “under the tuscan sun’ enthralled wannabe startin’ something” American chick dying to find her Italian stallion, all the while waxing poetic about how she’s found her true self by staying in gorgeous villas. I’ve lived in Europe most of my adult life. I’ve been down that road before, this ain’t nothin’ new BUT:

It’s time for a new way of doing things, a new path to walk down.

I’m no longer going to Italy to try and make a life for myself there. That whole “trying” stuff turned my  commitment ceremony if you will, into a shotgun wedding of sorts. It sucked the fun and adventure out of it and that’s precisely what I need right now, fun and adventure. I need not think of permits, leases, immigration issues, etc. This small decision has changed my life. It has  lifted a heavy burden off of my shoulders.I’m going to Italy with no strings attached and I’m more excited than when I planned to make a home there. I’m going to enjoy, discover, love, like I used to before I became so damn serious and hard on myself. As a result, I am loving Seoul even  more than I already do (didn’t think that was possible),  having fun making plans now, now that I’m not trying to force something to happen.

It feels like I’m in love. I’m in love with my life as it is, now more than ever. I’m so damn lucky and everything will work out fine like it always does.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    September 17, 2010 7:40 PM

    I love it! If you want to meet up for a little pizza in Napoli (for example), do ring. Its an Easyjet flight away from Paris.

  2. September 17, 2010 10:21 PM

    Certo! Avec plaisir ma belle!

  3. September 20, 2010 10:25 AM

    You go girl! Have a wonderful time.

  4. September 20, 2010 12:41 PM

    Thank you, Sirmelja! Will do!

Leave a Reply

