Skip to content

Kenny Rogers never lied

January 6, 2011

Do you ever wonder why a certain song suddenly appears in your thoughts, a song that you’d never sing out loud, at least when there are people present? For me that song is “The Gambler”, yes, Kenny Rogers, people, Kenny Rogers. Now I could just say that it was a coincidence, a popular song from my childhood, residue from a carefree time OR I could really look at the lyrics and understand what they might be trying to tell me. I choose the latter.

Lately I’ve been working this body of mine overtime, working out with a personal trainer is a blessing and I’m halfway to my goal. Barely five weeks in and she’s helped me accomplish what would have taken me three months to achieve. Heck, who am I kidding, 6 MONTHS. It’s a task just walking to the gym in this bitter cold, but I do it because I’m vain (yes I love looking good to myself), extremely health conscious (I drive my mother crazy throwing out what I consider junk food when I’m visiting) and don’t want to be on any medication whatsoever, but sometimes…..I have to listen to my body and today it told me “You got to know when hold em’, know when fold em’, know when to walk away, and know when to run.

In other words, I need to keep my ‘milkshake’ in the house and leave those boys in the yard by themselves. I NEED SOME SLEEP.

Lately I’ve been having two hour gym nights. Tonight is a 8 or 9 hour night of pure sleep. I need to pace myself.

The next bed I buy will be covered with a goose down comforter that’ll make the whitest clouds green with envy. For now, I’ll be grateful for my blond wood heated floors. Heated floors!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 7:51 AM

    That photograph is soooo great !!!
    I love goose down, I actually have a feather and down underlay on my bed, so heavenly !!!

  2. January 9, 2011 8:54 AM

    FUNNY!! That’s my motto, too. Knowing when to hold ’em and when to fold ’em. Here’s hoping you’re giving the ‘milkshake’ a rest.

Leave a Reply

