Skip to content

Oh The Humanity!

February 4, 2011





I want to wish all of my friends, family and readers a very Happy Lunar New Year! Yesterday was officially New Years Day here in Seoul, South Korea and on the suggestion of a dear friend, (Thank you, M.) I went out into the deserted streets of Seoul and snapped away. I must say that I felt a bit lonely upon walking the first couple of steps but finding my way to Bonguensa Temple (a five minute walk from my flat) did me a world of good.

I was pulled in by the song of a monk chanting, incense wafting in the air all around me, Buddhists reverent in their love and respect for The Buddha, bowing in front of me. Something happened. As a sat with others, I watched as two men carried their elderly mother down the steep, thick steps of the temple. I thought to myself how blessed she is to have children to help her, care for her now in this stage of her life. How blessed she was. I prayed for her, for her family. Then, a woman and a very small child who was still a bit wobbly on her little legs approached the steps to the temple. I watched how hand in hand, the grandmother helped her tiny, red-coated granddaughter climb the steps of the temple. As I smiled, I suddenly realized something that overwhelmed me, brought tears to my eyes. I realized that at the beginning and ending stages of our lives, we all need hands to hold, someone to help us, someone to lean on, to help us continue on. Here I was feeling a bit lonely, I now know that I was not alone at all, that even without family and friends nearby, that I was among friends and family. I did not know anyone there but I did. I smiled and bowed and received the same love and respect from gentle eyes that passed me by. I was just a human being living in the world, I was just a part of their world as they were of mine. We were together. We are never alone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Otis Owens permalink
    February 5, 2011 5:08 AM

    BEAUTIFUL…reading that brought tears to my eyes on the other side of the world. Thank you for lifting me up and helping me to realize…

  2. February 5, 2011 5:31 AM

    You have made a difference in my life, Otis. Let’s tear it up all over the world, spread love!

Leave a Reply

