Skip to content

Los Angeles: Nothing stops a bullet like a job

February 16, 2011


this photo found via Mocoloco

Yes, it sure does.

I was a bit over the design show in Paris, all the walking, talking, snapping pics, it can get to you, all that gorgeousness. When I’ve had enough, I can easily walk away.
I was in Paris and I couldn’t wait to get home to yet another amazing home cooked meal cooked by my best friend, all of us sitting around the kitchen table, discussing world events, drinking wine, you know: HEAVEN! As I approached the exit I saw some lights in the form of garlands. “Cute” I thought to myself, then getting a closer look, I stopped in my tracks and I didn’t believe what I saw before me. It was a simple tote bag but I was jolted by its message: Nothing Stops a Bullet Like A Job. “Damn!” I said under my breath, I had to know more.

What a message to carry around, to spread around in such a simple way. Come to find out that this and other totes, clothing, etc. are made my Homeboy Industries in conjunction with Artecnica and Alex Lin of NYC. Homeboy Industries help ex-gang members build their own business. I love it when design isn’t just about the pretty. This is a beautiful project on so many levels and I’m glad that my curiosity overcame my hunger.

The totes will be available in March!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 10:24 AM

    I love these bags. I’d buy one. so rebellious in a way. loves them.. 😛

  2. February 18, 2011 6:43 AM

    Love them !!!

  3. February 21, 2011 5:16 PM

    I like the statement on the 2nd bag. So true, right?

  4. February 21, 2011 5:38 PM

    Yes, the second bag is also heart warming. Great hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

