Skip to content

Spring is here: “I can smell it”

February 22, 2011

The light is shining brighter and it’s lighter when I walk out of my building at 6 AM. It could only mean one thing: Spring is nigh! I remarked to a friend of mine that it’s getting warmer outside, that Spring is here and my friend said “yeah, I can smell it!” I thought what a funny remark that was but it’s true. You can smell a gentle perfume of sprouting buds on trees and bushes. I was glad that I was wearing my new parfum from Annick Goutal that I purchased from Merci in Paris. Yes, they also have a perfume counter, an Annick Goutal perfume counter. Not only can you purchase perfume there but you can also refill your favorite scents. Talk about recycling, love it! Here’s my dear friend Catherine, sniffing away before I finally settled on my new scent. Heure Exquise. I’m in love with it, it’s strangely comforting, mysterious and slightly masculine. Think Lauren Bacall or Fanny Ardant walking in The Jardin de Luxembourg just before night falls. Yeah, that’s how it smells.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 8:51 AM

    I still haven’t been to Merci, it was not opened the last time I was in Paris (my has it been that long ) … love your description of the smell, sounds perfect !!!

  2. February 22, 2011 10:07 AM

    Lady! Ok, why are you becoming my BBF (Best Blog Friend)? I bet you and I could talk for hours about our travels, likes and dislikes. Yes, Merci was lovely but be prepared to sell your first born to afford an outfit or lovely linen bed sheets. The posts are coming, hope that you like them.

  3. Oneika the Traveller permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:26 PM

    I envy you! The weather is still dreary and cold in HK. 😦

Leave a Reply

