Skip to content

Seoul, land of the safe, nightly stroll

April 12, 2011

I could post the photos that I took of the great new bistro I discovered and photographed last night. I could tell you how beautiful it was to hear my own footsteps as I walked in the sweetest silence, not even thinking about my safety as I walked down dark streets. I was among friendly strangers, all of us walking towards future comforts.  When I look at people walking ahead of me, they are not strangers, but future friends, lovers. I was in Samcheong-dong last night and I wore the early evening blackness like my own skin and it was so real.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 5:48 PM

    I’m a fan of your blog and photography too! I love all the beautiful spaces that you have discovered in Seoul. It’s an inspiration. Exploring new places is one of my favorite things to do in the city..

    I want to do a fashion shoot in some of the unique cafes/spots in Seoul. I wish you weren’t leaving so soon cause I’d love to pick your brain on the places that you love the most, and how you approach photographing them. Where is the spot of your next adventure?

  2. April 13, 2011 6:26 PM

    Hello there and thank you!

    For anything funky, I’d say go to Hongdae, there’s so much going on graphically on the streets that it’s insane. Never a dull moment. Some places that I love are Cafe aA but you might have to pay if you’re going to do a photoshoot in there. Others you must simply ask them and in my experience they’ve always said yes. It’s a win win especially from their side. Free advertising for them. They’re are some stunning places in Seoul, I just get up early and start walking with my camera. The spot of my next adventure? Time will tell.

  3. April 19, 2011 12:31 PM

    This was so beautiful! Really allowed us to step inside an intimate moment without disturbing it. Love that last line.

    I had a similar night walking around D.C two nights ago. How great it is to rediscover something familiar like it’s brand new 🙂

  4. April 19, 2011 8:04 PM

    Thank you, Nicole.
    D.C. in the summer time has an amazing energy, just got to tune into it that’s all. Sounds like you did.

Leave a Reply

