Skip to content

30 jours à Paris!

April 18, 2011

You know, let me tell you something that kills me: the way my compatriots wax poetic about Paris. Don’t get me wrong, Paris is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever lived in (five years) and I visit once or sometimes even twice per year, but lately I’ve seen a lot of Amelie Poulain-like craziness and La Durée delusions going on. People think that by living in Paris they’re somehow going to unlock the secret of Life or they’re going to discover that “thing” that makes them so unique. Have you seen 2 days in Paris? Please do so, ASAP. Paris has inexplicable beauty and magic but on a daily basis most French people’s lives resemble this movie more or less. I couldn’t stop laughing when I first saw it. It’s so real on so many levels. When I tried to view it with my then French boyfriend and other French friends, some laughed but most were miffed. They thought that the movie was making fun of them (the French are very sensitive). Julie Delpy quite honestly and poignantly depicted the everyday lives of the typical archetypes you meet so easily in Paris.
Now comes, the sequel 2 Days in New York. This one stars Chris Rock as her new boyfriend (she’s no longer with Adam Goldberg in first film) and now her overbearing, neurotic family will pay her a visit in NYC. I hope that this film doesn’t play into the “oh my God, she has a Black boyfriend! Run for the hills!” I mean, this is 2011.

I can hardly wait to make my own mini film this June: 30 jours à Paris. Now who’s going to play my boyfriend….?

Happy Monday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 12:26 PM

    lol! You had me rolling in the first paragraph “lately I’ve seen a lot of Amelie Poulain-like craziness and La Durée delusions going on.”

    I’m a little intruigued by this sequel. I saw the first one (well…I watched it slowly download onto my laptop two years ago lol) and I like that Julie Delpy likes to deal with loose ends and continuing stories, love stories.

    Let me know what you think of it when you check it out! Oh, and you better get it with your mini film! I was just starting to get over my nerves for approaching video, because clearly the industry is not going to reverse itself for me. What type of equipment do you shoot with?

  2. April 19, 2011 7:51 PM

    Lady, for now I have an old DSLR, will move up to the 5d this summer. I have to try video, learn how to edit. It’s the next step, then of course, I’ll take it to Ms. Winfrey. Ok? Work!

  3. May 1, 2011 2:19 AM

    I just watched 2 Days in Paris as per your suggestion–absolutely loved the dialogue and was laughing most of the time! Goldberg’s character is so hipster typical (he also looks like someone I know). Thanks for the rec!

  4. May 1, 2011 2:44 AM

    Glad that you liked it!

Leave a Reply

