Skip to content

Emerson and Thoreau and I are changing direction

May 6, 2011

Out of the blue, I bought Self-Reliance by Ralph Waldo Emerson and Walden by Henry David Thoreau. Seriously, I walked a couple of miles to my favorite bookstore (it was a lovely day) and I found these two books at the forefront of my mind, time to reread and learn anew. I take heed to signs. They are telling me things that I already know but have shoved down and/or these authors are schooling me on what to do next and it’s slowly coming to my mind that the direction I was planning to take may not be the right direction. Instead of going right, I’m going to go left. Left looks a helluva lot more peaceful and more in tune to who I truly am.

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it. I must soon lay it down, and commence living on its hint. What I began by reading, I must finish by acting.
Henry David Thoreau

Amen!

T-shirt by Out of Print books, a noble company.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

