Skip to content

Wherever you go, there you are

May 7, 2011


my favorite tea: omija, in my favorite tea house


Hello All! This a comment I wrote on a travel blog this morning, the morning before I return to the States tomorrow:

No matter where you go, there YOU are. A lot of people use travel as a way to escape their problems at home and although walking along the Seine is beautiful there’s no avoiding your life “back home”, wherever home happens to be. No matter if you can travel abroad, the whole point is to be present in your life. Whatever you do to make yourself feel more alive abroad is what you need to do when you return home. People who can’t do this are destined to wear the “grass is greener” sign around the neck for the rest of their lives. Thankfully, I’m not one of those people, learned that lesson a long time ago. I don’t just travel abroad, I live abroad. I have a life like anyone else: work, real friends, family, good times, difficult times like anyone else. Whether I experience them in Paris (where I’m off to next again) or back home in the U.S. is inconsequential. Wherever you go there you are. Live your life.

I should have also added: Love your life.

Have a great weekend! The next shots you’ll see of me will be with my niece on the beach!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brie permalink
    May 8, 2011 5:02 AM

    Good words of wisdom to live by and on-time to hear.

  2. May 9, 2011 6:54 PM

    Couldn’t agree more!

  3. May 9, 2011 10:26 PM

    Shows why moving abroad can be a rollercoaster! I am featuring this as a good example of how travel and new places face you with yourself, thankyou, I really enjoy your insights!

  4. May 12, 2011 10:45 PM

    One of my favorite things about your blog is its inherent positivity. Have a safe trip, and I’m looking forward to seeing your pictures!

  5. May 13, 2011 1:21 AM

    Thank you so much. I’m now back in the States and am loving this glorious weather and my crazy family. LOL!

Leave a Reply

