Skip to content

Retro Bottega

August 10, 2011

I believe it was only my third night back in Paris (as of today, I’ve been here a week)and as I was heading home, I saw a cluster of people enjoying themselves, speaking with friends, drinking on the sidewalk. Nothing out of the ordinary. I walked passed them and saw that there was a tiny restaurant that they were standing in front of. Everyone looked so happy and relaxed, I almost decided then and there to go in, but I was laden with purchases and my computer. I headed home, but I hesitated twice before I reached the corner. The next day I made sure to not stay in and eat and check out this little restaurant, its name is Retro Bottega and baby the chef can COOK! I made sure that I’d have a table (it’s so small you can only get around 12 people, maximum. Table for one, coming up! I started my meal with a soothing glass of red wine from Saumur and homemade bites of Tarallini (14 euros per kg). The owners started this modest and appealing place with just 5000, each man. Incredible when you think of it. This place is small in a very nice neighborhood, many movies have been filmed in and around my apt.  Even though I’m about to move to another great area (15 min away, deux pas de Café l’Industrie et Café aux Anges) I will come back again and again to Retro Bottega. The food is great, the guys are sweet as can be and one of the other diners, a very handsome man, chatted me up and wrote his phone number in my book. Yes, I was writing trying not to forget any details. What a wonderful night! Voila le menu: Focaccia Bari, look at that speck ham! Dessert: Madeleine Ricotta Sicilienne, the Madeleine were made by the chef and on the dish were several scrumptious mirabelles fruit. Heavenly.

Address:

12 rue St. Bernard, 75011 Paris, metro: Faidherbe-Chaligny (line 8)

tel: 01 74 64 17 39

P.S. They’ve closed for the month of August to create more space.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DreamsTwister permalink
    August 11, 2011 12:39 AM

    Looks really cute and intimate… Great tip for my next trip to Paris! Thanks! 🙂

  2. josephine permalink
    August 11, 2011 7:50 AM

    oh la la! bienvenue a paris, non?

Leave a Reply

