Skip to content

Madame Grès, vous m’inspire

August 19, 2011

When I viewed the life work of Madame Grès just two days ago, I could not speak. I could hardly think straight. I knew that I was looking at love and artistry and pure inspiration. Who needs words? Tellement, I was touched that I had to sit down and gather myself, especially when I viewed this dress. The crowd had dispersed and I was alone with the light and this gown, this work. I don’t see fashion, (je ne suis pas trés “fashion”). I see dedication and art, what that means to me, it’s everything. To create something so timeless, so beautiful, is a miracle. There are more works that I will display but this is by far the one that makes me think the most. It’s a beacon, it drew me near and made me see the point of it all.

She created because she understood.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 12:18 AM

    Beautiful clothes. Magnifique! That orange dress is so elegant. You were lucky to see this and photograph it.

Leave a Reply

