Skip to content

Three essential compenents of French Style: 2. Tailoring.

October 7, 2011

Understanding your body and knowing what’s a good fit on your body, is essential in France as well as the rest of the world, of course. Somehow in the States you’ll see someone who clearly does not understand fit as he or she has squeezed themselves,conned themselves into believing they are a certain size, usually much smaller than they actually are. No matter what size you are, you’ll always look better, in clothes that fit you. Not tight, not baggy, but a perfect fit.

There was several times during the exhibition that I had to stop and put my camera down. This exhibition changed me.
Look at the tailoring of one of the world’s most amazing fashion designers: Madame Grès. Look at the cut of these clothes! She understood a woman’s body, not every great designer does. I love clothes that drape on or caress the body. The last thing I want to think about when I’m walking in Paris, working or looking into my lover’s eyes is “these pants are loose in the rear”. Can you imagine wearing one of her dresses? You would think of nothing, you’d think you were naked, a goddess, strong. I love feeling naked when I’m dressed, don’t you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Trina permalink
    October 7, 2011 3:33 PM

    Those draped dresses are stunning beyond words! The first two picture, as well as the last one, literally take my breath away!

  2. October 7, 2011 3:37 PM

    I saw this exhibition twice. Blew me AWAY. I have more that I’ll post later.

  3. October 7, 2011 7:05 PM

    So classy, especially the jacket in the 3rd picture on the far right side!

  4. October 13, 2011 12:38 AM

    Exquisite!

  5. October 13, 2011 7:16 AM

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

