Skip to content

Soul to Seoul

December 19, 2011

Kim Jeong Il died yesterday. The North Korean leader is believed to have suffered heart failure while traveling. As you know I had a wonderful time living and working in South Korea for almost three years. I still have great friends there, the majority being Korean. My friends and I do not rejoice in his death. There’s no reason to rejoice, no matter who they are and no matter how much fear they’ve caused in the hearts of their fellow citizens and neighboring countries. I am sympathetic towards my friends and the citizens of South Korea right now as they once again look into the face of uncertainty. They now must see how the new leader, Kim Jeong Il’s son, will lead North Korea as well as how he will interact with South Korea, its leader and citizens.

South Koreans and South Korea have changed my life immensely and I will pray for their safety and continued progress in the days and years to come. I guess I can pray in this way for all of us.

Photos via Apolisglobal.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

