Skip to content

My Security Blanket

February 2, 2012

via Modern Hepburn, tumblr

via Modern Hepburn, reminds me of the girl in the blazer above

I ran into this photograph today and it’s one that has left me daydreaming for most of the morning.
You see, the blazer, the jacket, whatever you want to call it, is essential to my life. There are cardigan people and there are blazer people. I’m a blazer person. Slipping on a new blazer, the shoulders have to be hugged, the waist, nestled but not too much. I’m quite tall, with broad shoulders and if the blazer doesn’t hang in a certain way from the shoulders and center back, well, forget it. Back to the rack it goes. This blazer reminds me of two of my favorites, both from J.Crew. One is a beautiful wool crepe, tuxedo lapels and when I wear it, I’m not aware of it, and I know I look good = PERFECTION. The other one is a more traditional, one step away from being preppy. It’s all cotton, the softest, navy blue, and I wear it with the arms scrunched up. I don’t care if it’s hot as Hades or cold as the Frozen Tundra, I’ll wear it because it’s like a hug from my man. Irresistible.

Being in Paris now, I have to talk about style, not so much fashion. What’s a staple of yours?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 12:25 PM

    Rugged cow boy boots or Bensimon sneakers!!!

  2. February 2, 2012 5:18 PM

    Cowboy boots!

  3. February 3, 2012 1:37 PM

    Simple, crafty, hippy…earrings. Finding the right earring is very difficult for me because my taste is so specific. As to the blazer, I’m only now getting into them.

  4. February 4, 2012 5:24 AM

    White shirts, blouses, tank tops, tees. I love wearing the colour white because it looks so good against dark skin. It’s like wearing a layer of light. It’s my base to which I pair some fabulous earrings or perhaps a chunky necklace. Or maybe a bracelet or two.

    I’m in the search for a great blazer though. I think I’ll hot-foot it into town next week and check things out.

  5. February 5, 2012 12:40 PM

    I love a beautiful white shirt, in cotton or silk. A winner every time.

  6. February 8, 2012 10:50 AM

    Always jeans, blazer, scarf, big Nivaldo de Lima bag, good boots, camera. That’s me! Louise x.

  7. February 8, 2012 11:03 AM

    and stylishy so!

Leave a Reply

