Skip to content

Design Happens Everywhere

May 8, 2012

I was going to entitle this post “Ethnic Chic, really?” but I thought it sounded negative and that’s something I don’t believe in propagating. I’m seeing the term “ethnic chic” a lot and most of the time what I see are traditional or a modern take on traditional, usually African, textiles, in various forms or another. Sometimes the images are amazing and sometimes they turn into ideas exhausted and exalted all over the internet, in your local tony design store or worse, in your favorite déco magazines. I love great design. Period. If it excites me, teaches me about form and function, then that makes it even more beautiful and takes on a new meaning of the word functional. What I saw and still dream about in Marrakech cannot be contained in a cute little phrase. I saw craftsmanship and respect for tradition and was told about the people who made some of the products I saw and eventually carried home with me. I heard someone that I respect and admire a great deal say to a potential customer “This is NOT “ethnic chic” it’s just great design from another part of the world” This sentence really grabbed me because I found it to be true.

What are your thoughts?

Photos via Intelligent Clashing

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2012 3:36 AM

    Beurk. (That’s my reply whenever I hear “ethnic chic”.) What does that mean? Scandinavia is ethnic too, ain’t it? Anyway, let’s not go on about the negative…

    I love good design, pattern and fabric regardless of the origin.

  2. May 8, 2012 7:45 AM

    Yes! LOL! Tanya, Estonia and Lithuania are so “ethnic” too! You’re so funny and on point!

Leave a Reply

