Skip to content

Guess who’s coming to dinner?

May 14, 2012

Wherever I may roam, I always meet the nicest, most interesting people. After spending ten days in Morocco our last night was sheer magic as we were invited to have dinner in a Moroccan home beautifully inhabited by the sublime Valéria, our generous hostess and now new friend. She cooked an amazing Italian dinner for us and her friends. Seriously, I’m not exaggerating when I say this amazing woman and her friends had us (especially me!) hanging on her and their (all Italians! Yes!!!) every word. What is it about Italians that instantly make the world happier, louder, crazier and for God’s sake, MORE DELICIOUS than anything, ever?

How I met Valéria and later, Silvia and Giorgio was simply due to both us being free spirits. Beautiful people inside and out. La Bella Figura was what Valéria’s table was all about. She invited two strangers into her home and her hospitality, table and food made us feel like much loved family from out of town. Look at that table!!! I had to take pictures (with my sweetie’s iPhone) it was so beautiful!

The food! I love Italian food, it’s my favorite cuisine. Yes, I live in Paris and I do delight in French food but there’s something about Italian food that makes me feel all warm and taken care of, appreciated. You know?

We will never forget Valéria’s hospitality, the joyful noise of all of us made sitting around her beautiful table, eating delicious food, laughing, drinking, being merry and thankful.

I will never forget that night with Valéria, Silvia, Giorgio and my sweetie, plus Puzzola (the rock star cat)

See you all again very soon!

P.S. I love the woven mats on the wall, very clever and chic.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 8:07 PM

    God, I love this! The place settings. Gotta get to Morocca one of these days and buy some of this stuff.

Leave a Reply

