Skip to content

Tales from a food truck in Paris…

June 4, 2012

To my surprise, the New York Times has supplied a wonderful video and article about the American invasion of food truck fare in Paris. It’s surprising because I was just speaking of this to The Dane over a Thai lunch yesterday, how disappointing it is to eat Mexican food here. Don’t get me started about finding a good burger. The Mexican food in Paris has no kick, no spice (the French generally do NOT like spicy food) and carnitas or tacos with no spice might as well be, uh, meatloaf. Berk! So with great pleasure I hear about Cantine California. Juicy, grass-fed beef, carmalized onions, carnitas, oh my god! French people will never tell you this but they LOVE a lot of American culture especially our cuisine. What’s American cuisine, you may say? It’s everything good under the sun brought and shared by all cultures living in my beautiful Étas-Unis! I’m trying their burgers this week. Who’s coming with me?

P.S. Loved the “blond” at the end who acted as if she didn’t know how to chow down. Girl, please. We all know the deal. 😉

Both photos courtesy of the New York Times

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 6:36 PM

    We’ll be at Marche St Honore this Saturday! Thanks for the reminder about this new food truck to try! 🙂

  2. josephine permalink
    June 4, 2012 11:42 PM

    I cannot believe you’re writing about this. Yesterday I saw a story on food trucks in Paris on France24, and I told myself to write to you about them on Monday! I would gladly accompany you to Cantine California. I’ll try to remember the other trucks that story mentioned.

  3. June 5, 2012 8:53 AM

    Hey lady! Thanks for thinking of me. When are you coming to Paris? Bises!

  4. June 14, 2012 7:58 AM

    Hey Felicia! You might want to check our brand food Truck concept “La Cantine Mobile” that we’ve just launched a month ago. http://goodys.fr
    Worth tasting!!!

Leave a Reply

