Skip to content

Rollin’ Rollin’ Rollin’!

June 12, 2012

Hello all!

I’ve got to have a bike. I’VE GOT TO HAVE A BIIIIIIKE! I’m a flaneur to the bone but I need to move a little faster these days. It’s getting warmer (though it’s been pouring daily lately) here in Paris and I’d like to avoid the hot, stuffy and sometimes funky, metro. That Paris has added bike lanes to nearly every street here just makes me more eager to hit the road on two wheels. You may already know about Paris’s amazingly simple and reliable bike share program called Vélib, it’s great, efficient and omnipresent. Problem is, I’m a one bike kind of woman. I want to use it as a daily form of transportation not just take it out for an occasional spin in the city. I want to give it flavor, know it upon site and take it home with me at the end of the night. I want a commitment. I want MY OWN BIKE. I’m tall drink of water so I need a tall bike, something safe and dependable, like a Velorbis bike or a vintage one from 18 Vélo Vintage. The choices are endless just like the road.

P.S. Thinking of giving this company a try, I’ve never toured Paris on two wheels. Have you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 4:25 PM

    LOL, I love your statement of being a ‘tall drink of water’. I say that about myself too.

    I agree about the bike thing. The last time I rode a bike was on my honeymoon a year ago. I was so much fun! I felt like a little girl again. And like you I am a one-bike-girl.

    Good luck with your bike search.

  2. June 12, 2012 4:43 PM

    Hey you!
    Riding a bike makes me feel like a kid again, too. I used to ride with my brother and the boys next door right after school until the lights came on in the street. That was definitely our cue to head home…QUICKLY. LOL!

  3. June 13, 2012 12:16 AM

    No, I’ve yet to ride a bicycle in Paris, but renting with Vélib seems like the right thing to do for my next trip. Fun idea – thanks!

    By the way, I never noticed . . . what do “most” Parisian riders do when it rains so often (like now) – take it easy and get wet, dry slowly, and forget about it?

    Or do they do a balancing act, holding an umbrella with one hand while steering with the other (as in Japan)?

  4. June 13, 2012 9:19 AM

    Hello Melodie and welcome to my blog. I’ve seen both. I think that it’s a bad idea to do a “balancing act” here in Paris because the traffic on a rainy day can be quite daunting I say, wear a waterproof parka with hood or book it to the nearest café and wait it out.

  5. June 17, 2012 11:10 AM

    Yeah, I’ve done Paris for a week on my bike. Naturally, it’s much better to do it here in Holland, but I had a blast. I felt that I had more freedom. Definitely recommend.

  6. June 17, 2012 11:11 AM

    As to the rain, it rained when I was in Paris and I used a pashmina. Better than an umbrella.

Leave a Reply

