Skip to content

Reading is Fundamental, so is Good Design

September 23, 2012

See more about the actual design of the bookstore below:

I can hardly believe that it was just a week ago that I strolled through Notting Hill, met an incredible woman who also is a very talented photographer and well, just had a blessed day. I want to thank Louise (that’s her in the first photo) for taking time out of her day to meet up with me. I spent time in the presence of a generous person. She showed me some of her favorite places and everyone we met along our way greeted her and me with smiles as well as helpful information. I learned so much that day! I’ll never forget it.

One of the things that I learned that day was how Paris needs an English bookstore as great as Lutyens & Rubinstein Bookshop. It was love at first sight as I entered the independent bookshop and saw not only how well designed it was, but how intelligently the books were displayed! I really appreciate seeing book covers. So much of it is truly art to me and yes, I sometimes do judge a book by it’s cover. This is no ordinary bookstore.

The layout is intimate, but not stuffy. The lighting is inviting, not obtrusive. I do spend a lot of money on books and now instead of being bombarded by silly books here in Paris. I think, no, I know, that whenever I visit London I will stop by this bookstore, learn more about authors of substance; past and present and wish that such a thing existed in Paris. Making room for more books right after I finish this post…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2012 9:34 PM

    It was such a joy to show you around! x

  2. September 23, 2012 10:13 PM

    You’re so sweet! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

