Skip to content

The Money Shot

November 1, 2012

This photograph from French Voguettes looks similar to how I used to run around town with my big, heavy camera. This is going to stop. I would love for anyone of you to share your advice on choosing a small but powerful compact digital camera that also shoots video. I’ve been doing some research on CNET.com, DPreview among others. The best camera is the one that you use on a regular basis, in my case, a daily basis. Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2012 8:40 PM

    I’ve had positive experiences using the Canon PowerShot S5-IS Super Zoom. That is an older model, but the newer models may be just as reliable. It’s not a DSLR but is good in its own way. Although not what I’d call lightweight I have found it comfortable to carry, even when climbing stairs and standing for long periods of time. It also shoots decent looking video (suitable for general purposes, though you might want a different camera for interviews).

    I’ve also been pleased with the Canon Rebel T3i, which is heavier — I have less experience with that model, so can’t go into details.

  2. November 1, 2012 10:51 PM

    Thank you so much. I just went to Cnet.com and looked at the review for both cameras. I much prefer the smaller model you recommend but the video features may have to be more extensive for what I plan to do. Thanks for introducing me to these cameras, especially the smaller one. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

