Skip to content

Country Roads Take Me Home

November 2, 2012

Hello All,

At home drying off from the downpour I was caught in this beautiful city but guess what, I have to admit, I’m homesick for Virginia, for America herself.
The Dane and I had a lovely night last night. We spent time together in our cozy bar/tavern talking about our day, the present and the future. I don’t know how, but I started talking about how a friend of mine spoke of the difference between France and America, this friend is French and one of my dearest friends. I had to share my America with her. The level of warmth, of hospitality shared and witnessed in homes filled with love, great food, and TONS OF LAUGHTER. I’m talking about my brother’s home, Gloria’s home (including her parent’s home and generosity) my Peggy’s home! (so cozy!) I am truly blessed and grateful! Fresh air, the smell of breakfast on the stove as one of us goes on a Starbucks run for our clan all the while blueberries muffins rising in the oven. The level of comfort of coziness cannot be found here in Paris. Why? It’s not Virginia, U.S.A. As I went on and on, my love said to me “Your homesick”. I was quick to deny it, because I think that I’m too old for that kid stuff, but actually being homesick has nothing to do with age. It has everything to do with connecting with the people who have loved you from day one, who want nothing but the best for you. It has everything to do with walking on the land of your people, feeling family again, that no matter where I go in America, I belong. I can hardly wait to take a walk around the neighborhood, on our wide streets and not touch bump into anybody! LOL!

Here’s a little bit of country for your mind. Cuz’ I’m a little bit country and a little bit rock n’ roll.

P.S. I’m from Virgina. NOT West Virgina. These are two different American states.

Bon Weekend!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabrielle permalink
    November 3, 2012 10:25 AM

    Beautifully written! My eyes are watery! Puss

  2. November 3, 2012 11:04 AM

    Thank you! Wherever your home is, I hope that you love it as much as I love mine.

  3. November 13, 2012 5:25 PM

    This post is 100% on the money. I’ve been feeling homesick the past few months, and in a spontaneous decision had to fly back home for the weekend to see my family. There is nothing like those few hours of love and closeness and jokes. Was able to recharge and refocus my priorities. You, Ms. Lady, have inspired a post 🙂 And I’ll dedicate it it to you.

    Lots of love,
    Nicole

  4. November 13, 2012 6:26 PM

    I’m so happy to hear that you could spend time with your family. I’m going to be with mine soon and I can hardly wait.
    You are so sweet to want to dedicate a post to me. Thank you so much. I’ll send you an email soon. I have some technical questions to ask you. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

