Skip to content

How Do You Feel About Fur?

November 20, 2012
tags: , ,

Hello!

Last night I had the opportunity to attend a book launch party at The French Federation of Women’s Ready-to-Wear Fashion. I had a great time and the best part of it was that I met so many interesting people in the fashion industry. Across the board there were people in publishing, consulting, publicity, etc. One of the people I met works in the fur industry. She told me that it’s still a controversial industry and market. I thought to myself that it will always this to many people. I mentioned the serendipitous way I met the co-founder and President of PETA, Ingrid Newkirk. Ms. Newkirk is quite a lovely woman, by the way, very passionate and full of life.

As soon as I mentioned that, well, the person pretended (funnily enough) to be scared out of her wits. I changed the subject, the night went on beautifully and the day after…I see this photo.

I remember what happened last night, I am always conscious of the work of PETA as well as my personal aesthetics. My first reaction, is “she looks adorable in this hat…I love this fur hat” then there’s other thoughts.

What are YOUR thoughts about fur in fashion? What do you think about fake fur?

Photo via here

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2012 11:28 AM

    Y’know, I have to admit that I don’t feel one way or the other about it. It’s not that I don’t care about what PETA says. It’s because I’m not one to go out of my way to buy a fur anything. (I do have a rabbit fur collar and a rabbit fur purse — don’t ask…but it’s cute.) I don’t wear either often but I have been known to bring them out on occasion. When I do, or when I consider wearing either, I do wonder what people may think.

    Fur and fake fur have their places in fashion just as leather and pleather have their places.

    My challenge with PETA (some of the actions by some of their supporters) was the zealous destruction of property. I’ve never seen vegetarians storm meat eaters at a restaurant and throw their meals to the floor. I don’t agree with that course of action.

    Yes, I’m a meat-eating, leather-wearing kinda girl. Perhaps I need to do more reading…

  2. November 21, 2012 3:14 PM

    Well, since you ask, I see it as two essential ideas. First, don’t kill anything that is wild. There simply isn’t enough wild left for people to go killing what remains. A farmed (and well looked after) animal is no different than any other source of leather.
    Second, is to ask yourself that if you want that hat, would you be prepared to slaughter and skin the animal yourself. If not, does it seem right to you to expect someone else to do it for you? Doing it yourself, you know facing the animal and striking a deal with it, helps to sort out what is a true need (for food or warmth) or a careless luxury.

    I can’t say that fashion fits into one way or another, saying that you would like to wear a hat doesn’t seem to me to be a well thought out reason to kill something.

  3. November 21, 2012 6:52 PM

    Tanya, thank you for taking time to answer this question.

    Tanya, we’re similar. I live and let live. I don’t believe in being cruel to animals though and killing a wild animal for my adornment, well, that makes me uncomfortable. I understand how other cultures have used and still use animals for their fur. I certainly partake in eating meat (2 or three times a month) for my pleasure. I love what PETA has done in terms of promoting awareness of the cruelty of animals on many levels and inside industries. I respect their mission but don’t always agree with their tactics. I respect other people’s property and expect others to respect mine.
    I’ll join you at the library as we both do more reading, but I’m not about to stop wearing leather shoes…

  4. November 21, 2012 7:04 PM

    I agree and disagree with you. I’m certainly not going to go out and kill anything living. However when you go shopping for food, do you think of the person who went out and killed that cow, pig, bird, etc. so that you and your family can eat in pleasure? That’s assuming of course, you’re not a vegetarian. Wearing fur may be a “careless luxury”, I do agree with you there but I do respect other cultures who do use animals for their fur and meat as it is their culture, etc. Today we do have to gain greater respect for our environment, all animals and humans as well. I think the hat is practical yet stylish but I think that I would feel uncomfortable wearing it. I think that in the end, it’s frivolous. I would rather wear a wool or cashmere hat instead. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to this. You’ve given me something to think about and that’s the beginning to greater self-awareness.

Leave a Reply

