Skip to content

Pasta Linea: Little Italy in Paris!

August 5, 2008


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While in Paris I had a meeting with a gallery owner just before hopping the Eurostar to London. I was starving. There was no way that I was going arrive in London on an empty stomach. I’m not one to eat at the train station as I feel that whatever I eat there will probably turn to its original state as soon as I unwrap it: Sawdust.

I’m famous for skipping meals or forgetting to eat altogether.

So, “Monsieur T” guided me to my private heaven, presently known as Pasta Linea where I would not only eat the best damn Italian food I’ve had in a while but where I would also have a bel rencontre avec Silivia Pronzato, the owner and founder. A succulent dish of penne pasta with shredded ham was gleefully taken back to the gallery. Little did I know that I was about to fall in love…with the pasta. It it weren’t for the fact that I was sitting among originals of Irving Penn, Walker Evans and Friedlanders in a tasteful French gallery, I swear I would have devoured my pasta take-out like a former French boyfriend kisses me each and every time I’m Paris: Shamelessly. It was that good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Four days straight I returned Pasta Linea to taste authentically made pasta, surround myself in the warmth and calm of this establishment and of course, get to know Silvia more and more. I walked into someone’s pride and joy and learned that “people slap the word bio on everything nowadays and it’s really des connneries”. Thank you for educating me Silvia. You taught me what authentic food is and not to blindly trust “bio” and to be a more discerning eater and shopper. From the floor tiles (each handmade and designed to fit the surface of the resto) to the homemade creme de la menthe that her husband so graciously offered me, I was enchanted, bewitched. Places like Pasta Linea are very hard to find these days: high quality products prepared in house in a warm, convivial atmosphere. Silvia enjoys what she does and it shows.

Cheers to Slivia and Pasta Linea!

P.S. Whatever you’re doing in this life, I hope that you’re happy doing it, if not, drop by Pasta Linea and you’ll find the inspiration you didn’t even know that you were looking for.

Pasta Linea
9 rue de Turenne
75004
Paris France, Tel : 01 42 77 62 54

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cleojones permalink
    August 7, 2008 12:24 AM

    How wonderful! Now that’s what I call lifestyle. A real authentic and personal way of living that reflects the individual. No, we don’t have that kind of experience much anymore.

    http://realsimpleliving.wordpress.com/

  2. Sylvia Pronzato permalink
    August 25, 2008 12:29 AM

    Big Hugs from Sylvia and Alexis ! XX

  3. Julia permalink
    March 17, 2013 2:11 AM

    Wonderful description…. Exactly what people say when they come with me at pasta Linea … By the way it’s my aunty place 😉
    No kidding
    Hugs
    Julia

  4. March 17, 2013 1:01 PM

    I love this place, thanks for dropping by my blog!

Leave a comment